Counting My Blessings

To start off my spring break, I went to a soccer game with my family at the StubHub Center. My family is usually scattered and it is rare that we spend time together so this past Saturday was a special day for me. Having my family together even if it is for a few hours is the best feeling.

I started a club named Helping Hands last June and the purpose is to give back to our community by making lunches that we hand out around town to those in need. We usually make 70-100 meals that consist of sandwiches, fruit, granola bars, and water. I wouldn’t be able to complete this without the help of my friends who come out to help. I enjoy doing this because it is nice for us teenagers to give back even if it is in a small way. The little we do does make some impact. Whether it’s making someone smile or feeding someone who cannot afford food, it is a great feeling to do something good. It also reminds me to be thankful that I have a roof over my head and a house where I can simply walk into my kitchen and make myself something to eat.

Later that day, I went to the beach with my best friend Joselyn. Monday’s are for the girls right? We walked along the beach and we went to eat at the pier. We tried to take cute pictures of each other but we aren’t the most photogenic persons so it was a complete fail. We looked at the art pieces that were recently introduced to the pier.

The next day Joselyn and I met up at the beach again although this time we actually swam and attempted to tan. However, between me and you, tans aren’t really my thing. I don’t really see a difference, it is just the redness on my face that is noticeable. I enjoy moments like this. What else could compare to the feeling of eating chocolate covered strawberries with your best friend at the beach?

These small events remind me that I am blessed to live the life I live. Things aren’t always easy but I am alive and healthy and that certainly is enough. What are you grateful for?

-Gabby

Leave a Reply

